Events

80's

86-DOS released1980'dos1' 'x86dos'
Anime first episode1980'tsurikichisanpei'
California Pacific Computer Company begins publishing Akalabeth1980us'ultima'
Moscow1980ru'olympic'
Scooby-Doo and Scrappy-Doo (2nd) series1980'scoobydoo'
Sherlock Holmes becomes public domain in the U.K.1980'sherlockholmes'
Lake Placid1980-02-14us'olympic'
Ultraman 80 first episode1980-04-02'ultraman'
Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back1980-05-21'starwars' 'LucasArts'
MIL-STD-1815 standard1980-12'adalang'
CGA introduced1981'display-cga'
Comic strip in Daily Star1981'judgedredd'
First appearance in 2000 AD (issue #228)1981'roguetrooper'
First minicomic1981'motu'
NBC TV series 2nd season1981'buckrogers'
Original manga1981'captaintsubasa'
RFC 7911981'tcpip'
The Evil Dead film1981'evildead'
Ultima is published box while Akalabeth re-published in a box.1981us'ultima'
Johnny Mnemonic published in Omni1981-04'cyberpunk'
Maiden flight (STS-1)1981-04-12us'nasaspaceshuttle'
86-DOS bought by MS; MS-DOS 1.0 released1981-07'dos1' 'dos2' 'Microsoft'
Heavy Metal (film)1981-08'heavymetal'
Anime first episode1981-10-14'uruseiyatsura'
5th Doctor1982'doctorwho'
Anime last episode1982'tsurikichisanpei'
Conan the Barbarian movie1982'conanthebarbarian'
First Game (Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back)1982'starwars' 'LucasArts'
First Gineiden novel1982'gingaeiyudensetsu'
Flash Gordon: The Greatest Adventure of All (TV movie)1982'flashgordon'
John Carpenter's The Thing film1982'thething'
Spain1982es'soccer' 'worldcup'
Tron (movie)1982'cyberpunk' 'tron'
286 introduced1982-02-01'cpu-286' 'cpu-8086'
Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan1982-06-04'startrek'
Blade Runner (movie)1982-06-25'cyberpunk'
Macross Saga first episode1982-10-03'macross'
Original manga1982-12-20'akira'
1983 cartoon first episode1983'motu'
ANSI/MIL-STD 1815A (Ada 83) standard1983'adalang'
C++ published1983'cpplanguage'
Final Yamato (animated film)1983jp'spacebattleshipyamato'
Manga last issue1983'tsurikichisanpei'
Origin Systems is founded to publish Richard Garriott's games1983us'ultima'
Ravenloft module published1983'ravenloft'
First episode1983-02-05jp'aurabattlerdunbine'
M*A*S*H TV series last episode1983-02-28'mash'
Star Wars: Return of the Jedi1983-05-25'starwars' 'LucasArts'
Octopussy 1983-06'007'
AfterMASH first episode1983-09-26'mash'
Mospeada (New Generation) first episode 1983-10-02'macross'
3½" floppy disk created1984'3.5disk' '5.25disk'
BattleTech created by FASA1984'battletech'
Conan the Destroyer movie1984'conanthebarbarian'
EGA introduced1984'display-cga' 'display-ega'
IRIS 1000 released. Uses IRIS GL, the predecessor of OpenGL.1984us'opengl'
Los Angeles1984us'olympic'
Sarajevo1984'olympic'
The Jungle Book film by Disney, second re-release1984'junglebook'
The Karate Kid movie1984'karate' 'karatekid'
The Terminator movie1984'terminator'
The Transformers (G1) cartoon first episode1984'transformers'
Last episode1984-01-21jp'aurabattlerdunbine'
Southern Cross (The Masters) first episode1984-04-15'macross'
Gremlins movie1984-06'gremlins' 'gremlins-series'
Original movie1984-06'ghostbusters'
Star Trek III: The Search for Spock1984-06-01'startrek'
William Gibson Neuromancer published1984-07-01'cyberpunk'
W*A*L*T*E*R pilot1984-07-17'mash'
MS-DOS 3.0 released1984-08'dos1' 'dos2' 'dos3' 'dos4' 'x86dos' 'Microsoft'
Caravan of Courage: An Ewok Adventure1984-11-25'starwars' 'LucasArts'
386 introduced1985'cpu-286' 'cpu-386' 'cpu-8086'
6th Doctor1985'doctorwho'
Dark/Modern Age of Comic Books begings1985'comic' 'dccomics' 'europeancomic' 'marvel'
First OVA1985'uruseiyatsura'
She-Ra: Princess of Power1985'motu'
The 13 Ghosts of Scooby-Doo series1985'scoobydoo'
Yellow Book CD-ROM format created1985'3.5disk' 'cdrom'
Young Sherlock Holmes film1985'sherlockholmes'
First episode1985-01-23'thundercats'
Mobile Suit Z Gundam first episode1985-03-02'gundam'
AfterMASH last episode1985-05-31'mash'
A View to a Kill1985-06'007'
Back to the Future1985-07-03'backtothefuture'
Third anime's first episode19851012 *jp'gegegenokitaro'
Windows 1.0 released1985-11-20'microsoftwindows'
Ewoks: The Battle for Endor1985-11-24'starwars' 'LucasArts'
Aliens movie1986'alienmovie'
Defenders of the Earth (cartoon; first episode)1986'flashgordon'
First Arkanoid1986'breakoutlike'
First Gineiden manga1986'gingaeiyudensetsu'
First graphical MMO1986'mmog'
First TV commercial1986us'californiaraisins'
Mexico1986mx'soccer' 'worldcup'
Space station Mir (Мир) launched1986'spaceage' 'spacestation'
The Real Ghostbusters first episode1986'ghostbusters'
The Transformers: The Movie1986'transformers'
Dragon Ball (anime) first episode1986-02-26'dragonball'
Highlander movie1986-03-07'highlander'
Anime last episode1986-03-19'uruseiyatsura'
The actual event1986-04'chernobyl'
Sekai Daikessen! Jr. World Cup OVA1986-07-12'captaintsubasa'
Gall Force: Eternal Story (film)1986-07-26'gallforce'
Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home1986-11-26'startrek'
7th Doctor1987'doctorwho'
California Raisins figures (set 1)1987'californiaraisins'
Dragonlance sourcebook published1987'dnd' 'dragonlance'
End of main Gineiden novel series1987'gingaeiyudensetsu'
Evil Dead II film1987'evildead'
Forgotten Realms published1987'forgottenrealms'
ISO-8652:1987 standard1987'adalang'
Kamen Rider Black first episode1987'kamenrider'
Manga last album1987'uruseiyatsura'
Masters of the Universe live action film1987'motu'
Predator (film)1987'predator'
Rogue Trooper board game1987'roguetrooper'
The California Raisins Sing the Hit Songs album (Priority Records)1987'californiaraisins'
VGA introduced1987'display-ega'
Where's Wally? (Where's Waldo?)1987'hiddenobject' 'whereswally'
The Living Daylights 1987-06'007'
RoboCop (movie)1987-07'robocop'
Extreme Ghostbusters first episode1987-09'ghostbusters'
TV cartoon1987-09'madballs'
Star Trek: The Next Generation (first episode)1987-09-28'startrek'
Devilman Tanjo Hen OVA1987-11-01'devilman'
Gall Force 2: Destruction (film)1987-11-21'gallforce'
Windows 2.0 released1987-12-09'microsoftwindows'
Akira animated film1988'akira'
Aura Battler Dunbine: The Tale of Neo Byston Well (OVA)1988jp'aurabattlerdunbine'
Buck Rogers XXVC1988'buckrogers'
Calgary1988ca'olympic'
California Raisins figures (set 2)1988'californiaraisins'
Christmas with The California Raisins (Priority Records)1988'californiaraisins'
Greyhawk Adventures published1988'dnd' 'greyhawk'
Gunbuster anime OVA1988'gunbuster'
Manga ended1988'captaintsubasa'
Manga started1988'bastard'
Meet the Raisins: The California Raisins I TV special1988'californiaraisins'
Meet the Raisins! album (Priority Records)1988'californiaraisins'
Phobos 1 & 2 orbiters launched1988'mars'
Pup Named Scooby-Doo series1988'scoobydoo'
Seoul1988kr'olympic'
Seoul1988kr'olympic'
Starship Troopers (OVA)1988'starshiptroopers'
Sweet, Delicious, & Marvelous album (Priority Records)1988'californiaraisins'
Calgary1988-02-13ca'olympic'
Willow movie1988-05-20nam'willowseries'
MS-DOS 4.0 released1988-06'dos1' 'dos2' 'dos3' 'dos4' 'x86dos' 'Microsoft'
Ten Little Gall Force (OVA)1988-07-03'gallforce'
RoboCop: The Animated Series first episode1988-10-01'robocop'
Gall Force 3: Stardust War (film)1988-11-02'gallforce'
TLBT animated film1988-11-18'thelandbeforetime'
486 introduced1989'cpu-286' 'cpu-386' 'cpu-486' 'cpu-8086'
AD&D 2nd ed published1989'adnd' 'dnd'
ANSI X3.159-1989 (a.k.a. ANSI C / C89)1989'clanguage'
First pkzip release1989'zip'
Ghostbusters II movie1989'ghostbusters'
Last of Donald M. Grant editions of Howard's stories1989'conanthebarbarian'
Licence to Kill1989'007'
Scooby-Doo and the Reluctant Werewolf movie1989'scoobydoo'
Shadowrun 1st edition1989'shadowrun'
Shin Captain Tsubasa anime1989'captaintsubasa'
Spelljammer published1989'dnd' 'spelljammer'
The California Raisin Show animated series (13 Episodes)1989'californiaraisins'
The Karate Kid TV series1989'karatekid'
The Little Mermaid film1989'disney' 'thelittlemermaid'
Rhea Gall Force (film)1989-03-21'gallforce'
Dragon Ball (anime) last episode1989-04-12'dragonball'
Dragon Ball Z (anime) first episode1989-04-26'dragonball'
Star Trek V: The Final Frontier1989-06-09'startrek'
Back to the Future Part II movie1989-11-22'backtothefuture' 'hoverboard'
Gall Force: Earth Chapter (OVA)1989-12-25'gallforce'